top of page
Search

Concept doodles for Defenders

Updated: Aug 9, 2021

When I started writing Defenders, I found that drawing scenes from my story helped me focus. I was able to more clearly see actions, characters, and intentions when I focused on how elements looked. Now, I am NO ARTIST by any means, a line my students hear me utter at least once a period when I utilize the whiteboard, but I understand the basic concepts of pencil to paper. While middle grade books do not usually come with too many pictures, the overall effect of these have been instrumental to this work!


I love them all, but my favorite is the one where Bo (MC) his tugging on Ruby's bow, and she in turn is tugging on his tail. It helped me really define what their relationship was, and how they would interact.





16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page